The start of a new year can bring about many changes. This is the case both for individuals and businesses. One change that the start of 2017 has brought about for businesses in a number of states is an increase in the minimum wage employers are allowed to pay workers.
Over a third of the states in the country (19 states) had their minimum wage go up at the start of this new year. California is among these states. The minimum wage here in California has, generally, gone up from $10.00 an hour to $10.50 an hour.
So, businesses here in California may want to take great care to ensure that their pay practices fall into line with the new minimum wage rules in the state. A business can face serious legal trouble if it is accused of violating state minimum wage laws.
Now minimum wage laws are not the only thing it can be critical for businesses to stay in compliance with when it comes to the paying of employees. There are various other pay-related laws, like overtime laws, that running afoul of can get a business into serious trouble. Also, there are some laws that one might not immediately think of as being pay-related that it can be very important for businesses to be mindful of when deciding on their payment practices. This includes anti-discrimination laws. If a company is accused of discriminating based on factors like race or gender when it comes to the pay level of its various employees, it could face workplace discrimination litigation.
When a business has questions on pay-related legal issues or is facing allegations of pay-related misconduct, it may want to promptly seek out skilled legal guidance on the matter.
Source: The Wall Street Journal, “Minimum Wages Set to Increase in Many States in 2017,” Eric Morath, Dec. 30, 2016